Saturday, November 25, 2006

THE UNEXPECTED MILLIONAIRE - Susan Mallery



To quote Romantic Times......"Mallery scores a solid hit with this Laugh-out-loud funny tale."


THE UNEXPECTED MILLIONAIRE is the second book in Susan Mallery’s “The Million Dollar Catch”. It’s not only a passionate love story, it’s full of family dynamics and captivating…..due to Willow and powerful, strong and untouchable Kane.

Kane Dennison was handsome, strong and hard. But most important he didn’t do relationships nor did he ever want to become involved with a woman! All he has ever wanted was solitude and to someday retire to a secluded island. Kane felt to care about someone meant risking his heart…..that a woman might destroy him.

This sexy man is in charge of security for Todd Ashton III and his cousin Ryan, who are both millionaires many times over. What these three men share in common is a meddling woman by the name of Ruth (Todd and Ryan’s aunt and Ryan’s finance’s Julie’s grandmother)…..very complicated! Ruth’s mission in life is to marry off Todd and she offers her granddaughter’s one million dollars.

In the first book in the series, Ryan substitutes himself for Todd and Julie and Ryan fall in love. Now in the second book, there is no chance for Todd……because Willow tries to confront Todd but that doesn’t happen and the result…….Willow and Kane meet and what a mess. So what’s left? The last sister Marina and the Mr. $$$ Todd III; that will be addressed in the last book of the series. So where does this leave us? Willow and Kane’s story.

Enter Willow….caring, sweet, soft, and loveable. She arrives at Todd Ashton’s mansion to tell him off because he has tried to meddle in her sister’s relationship with Ryan. Instead of meeting Todd, she meets his security guard Kane. They argue, tussle and she ends up at his home with the result…..a sprained ankle. Poor Kane, he doesn’t know what’s hit him. During the passing weeks, he mellows and softens and adjusts to having Willow around, when had he ever needed anyone? And then he starts to wonder!

This is a very good read, but also emotional and sweet at the same time. It makes you believe in love and happy every after. Again Susan Mallery has delivered a very powerful romantic read full of love and family dynamics and emotion!


Book Description

Millionaire Kane Dennison's first mistake had been carrying an injured Willow Nelson inside his home, which, as a rule, was off-limits. Of course, she'd needed his help, but his one kind gesture had her believing he was a nice man. He wasn't.

His second mistake had been surrendering to passion after warning Willow to run away. Because a woman like her deserved better than a one-night stand. She believed in soul mates. He trusted no one--needed no one. And not even Willow was going to change him!

Sunday, November 19, 2006

Check It Out.......PHS November/December Releases

CHOSEN AS THE FRENCHMAN'S BRIDE - Abby Green




CHOSEN AS THE FRENCHMAN’S BRIDE is a fabulous debut novel by author Abby Green. It’s a prime example of passion like no other……and from the moment Jane and Xavier literally bump into each other the air around them sizzles. Abby’s strong alpha Xavier is everything a Presents novel should portray…… power, wealth, strength, good looks, passion, tenderness all of it.

Jane Vaughan is alone on holiday and by mistake boards a boat heading towards an exclusive island. Once she arrives she is forced to stay and make arrangements for a room. Then he appears and she’s captivated, in fact they are both captivated. With just a simple dance and then a picnic the next day, it’s evident to both of them their journey is just beginning.

When Xavier realizes he must pursue Abby and see where this sensual pull will lead, he asks her to stay at his estate for the three week duration of her holiday and she agrees and falls in love. When it’s time to leave he asks her to stay as his mistress. Of course Abby knows he has the power to destroy her and so with dignity in tack she leaves and returns home. In later weeks, she realizes she is carrying his child and must tell him the news. Upon learning he is about to become a father he insists they marry in order to give him his heir and satisfy his need for her.

Abby Green’s characters simply reach out and grab you. If your reading experience is anything like mine you won’t be able to put this book down. Throughout this entire story, I felt Jane’s pain. She was so overcome with lust, joy and completely swept away…. I wept! Theirs is such a stormy journey in finding love and trust; at times it will break your heart. And so to Abby Green, congratulations for such a beautiful debut, CHOSEN AS THE FRENCHMAN’S BRIDE is one I will long remember!



Book Description:

He needs an heir.....She's carrying his baby.....
Being swept off her feet by a tall, bronzed Frenchman isn't on Jane Vaughan's holiday list of things to do. But Xavier Salgado-Lezille isn't a man a girl can say no to easily. Especially when he comes complete with a chateau on his own island!

Jane tries to play it cool, but she's inexperienced, out of the depth, and a virgin. Falling in love isn't part of the plan...neither is discovering she's pregnant once she's home and the affair is over.

Now Xavier knows she's carrying his child, and he wants an heir. Jane has been chosen as his bride!

COOKING UP A STORM - Jenna Bayley-Burke

Check out the Australian cover for Jenna's April release!


I recently met Jenna at The Emerald City Writer's Conference and didn't realize she wrote Modern Romance for Mills and Boon and here I am finally reading her new release COOKING UP A STORM. It's absolutely delicious and delectable, full of passion, romance and humor. Felt like I was in the middle of catering chaos. It's a wonderful story and I sincerely enjoyed every moment of Lauren and Cameron's journey in finding each other. A sincere thanks to Jenna for this incredible and entertaining story!

Book Description:

Millionaire on the menu!

When it comes to relationships, sexy venture capitalist Cameron Price sticks firmly to casual flings. But when relocation takes him to Seattle, his boss insists that finding a girlfriend will be a smart career move.

Still content with snacks rather than a full banquet, Cameron makes a deal with caterer Lauren Brody – she will pretend to be his girlfriend, and in return he'll hire her to cook at all his corporate events!

But their first kiss is incredibly tasty! Soon, the chemistry between Cameron and Lauren is electric, and their shared passion is threatening to boil over - which isn't part of Cameron's plan!


MY REVIEW:

Jenna Bayley-Burke has written a real winner with her COOKING UP A STORM. It's absolutely delicious and delectable, full of passion, romance and humour. I felt like I was in the middle of catering chaos. It's a wonderful story and I sincerely enjoyed every moment of Lauren and Cameron's journey in finding each other.

Cameron an investment executive is being transferred from his firm in New York to head up the Seattle office and if he proves himself, he’ll run both offices. His boss is stepping down but he and his wife have definite ideas of how Cam should handle his personal life………a serious girlfriend then marriage! They firmly believe because Cam must entertain both at home and the office a wife and social hostess is the key to his success and happiness.

Lauren was just building up her career and business “Come for Dinner” Catering. Her company was well known for catering fabulous dinner parties. For the past few years, Lauren had emerged herself in her business to forget her pain, that of loosing her father and brother in a car accident and being hurt by a past fiancé. She is now just recovering from the hurt and looking forward to catering Cam’s business dinner and seeing him again as they met a year ago at a similar function she had catered for his boss. Over the past year Lauren had thought of Cam several times.

As this story begins, you feel the chemistry between Cam and Lauren immediately as they see each other again…..sparks fly but life has a way of playing tricks on people. Cam’s boss’s wife keeps after him from the moment she arrives at his dinner party and Cam feels trapped. He talks Lauren into playing his “secret” girlfriend and in exchange he’ll give her his catering business for dinner parties and office lunches and functions. Their journey begins and what a ride!

I loved Lauren’s spunk and drive…..and Cam’s drive to succeed but what gave me pleasure as a reader was how they both overcame their trust issues and in the end found love and happiness. Sincere thanks to Jenna for this incredible sizzling and entertaining story

COME MOONRISE - Lucy Monroe (UNLEASHED)


I've never read a paranormal let alone a werewolf book but after reading Come Moonrise I realized what I've been missing or maybe it's that because Lucy Monroe is an auto-buy for me, I loved it! Loved it doesn't describe this decadent story. This book is part of UNLEASHED, a paranormal anthology and Lucy's first contemporary werewolf story. This book takes passion to a higher level and Ty and Frankie's journey to finding love and understanding.

I found this book to be interesting as the reader learns about werewolf's, fernwolfs, the "laws of the pack", and just what mating means to a wolf, that once they mate, they mate for life and marriage must occur.

Ty and Frankie have been friends since she was twelve. There is a scene when Frankie was younger at the fishing hole and is crying, missing her parents who had perished. A wolf comes to her and licks her tears away. The wolf reminds her of her bestfriend Ty and the love of her life. Frankie has loved Ty for years and returns home to put an end to this torture by trying to find out if they have a chance. She forces the issue, but due to pack laws Ty wants to be with one of his own and tries to push Frankie away. They get stranded, she forces the issue by seducing him and let me just say their passion is so strong and forceful it will just plain take your breath away. It's their journey to finding love and is one you will long remember. I congratulate Lucy Monroe as she has again written a very powerful story with Come Moonrise.

Book Description

Ty MacAnlup has seen the tragedy that a mating between a werewolf and a human can bring and he wants no part of it, no matter how much his body and heart ache for a taste of Frankie's softness. Frankie has loved Ty for years and while she doesn't know he's a werewolf, or even that such things exist...she does know that to her, he's always been more than a mere man. Ty's hidden beast wreaks havoc with his determination to stay away from Frankie when they are trapped together in a small cabin in the snow bound wilderness

Come Moonrise
Berkley Tradesize
ISBN 0425212114 ~
December 2006

THE SUBSTITUTE MILLIONAIRE - Susan Mallery


This is the first book in the series THE MILLION DOLLAR CATCH and a fabulous first book in the series. It's Ryan and Julie's story and a fun, passionate and very powerful read.

Julie is the oldest of three sisters and has problems trusting men. Her father comes and goes as he pleases which hurts her entire family, her one-time fiance was actually a married man and now her newfound Grandmother wants her to go on a blind date with her eldest millionaire nephew. The offering is $1,000,000 should they marry. However, Julie just wants to humor her Grandmother Ruth since they've just met so she agrees to go on the date.

Ryan, strong, handsome, smart hears from his cousin Todd that their Great Aunt Ruth wants Todd to go on a blind date. Ryan has just been hurt by a recent relationship and tells Todd he'll go in his place and teach the money grabbing woman a lesson. Ryan poses as Todd but doesn't count on Julie being so beautiful, charming, smart and witty. Their evening begins with sizzling attraction and ends in passion However, not so the next morning when Ryan reveals who he truly is and Julie throws Ryan out on his ear.

Fate, destiny? Call it whatever you want but Julie finds out she is pregnant with Ryan's child and this takes the reader on a rollercoaster journey one to be remembered for a long time.

I honestly can say I can't wait for the next book in the series as these rich and powerful men are going to have their hands full with the two remaining sisters....Willow and Marina.

Susan Mallery has again written an incredible series and this one being full of passion, humor, and sensitivity.


Book Description

Successful businessman Ryan Bennett had agreed to masquerade as his wealthy cousin for a blind date.

But from the moment Ryan saw Julie Nelson to the moment he should have said good-night, he was captivated and couldn't resist an invitation to share her bed. In the hazy afterglow of their heated lovemaking, Ryan confessed his true identity, claiming the passion between them was real despite his deception, but Julie wasn't buying it. Obviously she considered him the enemy.


Except now she was having the enemy's baby.

A MISTRESS FOR THE TAKING - Annie West



All I can say is that author, Annie West has a brilliant career ahead of her if A Mistress for the Taking is any indication. This is Marina and Ronan's story set in beautiful Australia and full of passion, I guarantee!

Marina has taken care of her family for most of her life. Over the past year she and her father were in an accident, one in which she injures her leg and her father dies. This leaves Marina and her brother to run the family business in which her brother makes very bad choices and they stand to loose it because he gambled it away. Marina confronts the ruthless Mr. Wakefield, the man who has stolen it only to be embarrassed at a cocktail party attended by the rich and famous.

However, she is rescued by the tall, dark and very mysterious Ronan. Ronan has a plan, a plan to help Marina and gain revenge on the man who has brought pain to one of his family. He is also very drawn and attracted to Marina and talks her into portraying his mistress. However, the tables are turned on both Marina and Ronan as neither of them counts on their own attraction for each other.

Their journey in finding each other and love will absolutely take your breath away. Congratulations to Ms. Annie west on her first Modern Romance, it was a fabulous read!

Book Description:

How far will a woman go to save her family’s future? Marina Lucchesi must choose between preserving her dignity and securing her father’s legacy by the only means possible: masquerading as a rich man’s mistress.


Ronan Carlisle is a man with a mission: to put an end to the sick games played by a rival tycoon. Ronan’s own sister was his victim and Ronan is determined that no more innocents will be hurt the way she was. In Marina he finds the perfect decoy to ensure his strategy’s success and he makes her an outrageous proposition.


But soon he realises he wants far more. Can he persuade her to become more than a mistress in name only? Will she trust him, and herself, enough to believe in love?


Release Dates:
Mills & Boon Modern Romance - UK September 2006 (h/back); November 2006 (p/back)
Harlequin Mills & Boon Sexy - Australia/NZ December 2006
Harlequin Presents - North America January 2007

PREGNANCY OF PASSION - Lucy Monroe





This is Elisa and Salvatore’s story…..one full of passion, pain and will, in the end, warm your heart.

All of Elisa’s life she just wanted to belong and she felt she belonged to no one, not her lover nor her parents. She craved acceptance from her American mother who chose not to marry her Italian father. Throughout her life she spent time in Sicily with her father and his wife and their sweet, traditional Sicilian daughter.

However, Elisa always felt somewhat like an outsider. Her lover, Salvatore had shown her such passion but when she told him she was pregnant, he didn’t believe the baby was his and in the end left her after their child perished. She felt such pain and became a truly lost and broken woman.

Now a year later, Elisa is faced with seeing Salvatore and this is where the story takes off on a roller coaster ride, and seductive journey, one the reader will long remember. Lucy Monroe is a master at depicting strong passion between her two main characters, and again in Pregnancy of Passion she has delivered a powerful punch. Be prepared for sorrow and pain but also a passion not to be denied.


Back-Blurb:

So why was he back? Elisa trusted Salvatore di Vitale about as far as she could throw him. And, as the Sicilian security expert was over six feet of pure muscle, that wasn’t very far.

Salvatore told Elisa he had come to protect her, and that much was true. But if their close proximity led to passion he wouldn’t exactly be complaining. And if passion should lead to pregnancy…so much the better! Because then Elisa would have to marry him – which was Salvatore’s plan all along…

THE SICILIAN'S CHRISTMAS BRIDE - Sandra Marton

Harlequin November 2006

Book Description:

Sicilian tycoon Dante Russo has become rich and successful the hard way. So there's no mercy in his heart when he hears that Taylor Sommer's business is struggling. She's the woman who ended their affair three years ago, and her present plight is perfect—for Dante to blackmail her back into his bed and get his desire for her right out of his system.

Tally's now the mother of a lovely little girl, news which only serves to harden Dante's heart further and intensify his need to possess. But rich and ruthless though he may be, even Dante isn't immune to the magic of Christmas and the miracles it brings….

A VIRGIN FOR THE TAKING - Trish Morey



Zane and Ruby’s journey to finding happiness was full of road blocks. Mistrust, secrets and a passion so powerful at times it was painful to read.
Zane is returning home to make peace with his father, only to find out that he has passed away and won’t get the chance to speak with his father and heal old wounds. Instead, he finds the lovely and beautiful Ruby who he believes was his father’s mistress. If that’s not enough when his father’s will is read, he discovers they will both have to run the Bastiani Pearl Corporation.

The story is set on the beautiful Gold Coast. It is evident that this author has done her research on the countryside and the pearl industry. The reader is taken on the journey of discovering and learning about pearls, design and the business itself.
Zane is a savvy businessman and Ruby a designer. Together they make an incredible team but would they agree? No, because there is mistrust, and way too many secrets between them along with such a powerful attraction they cannot deny. The reader is taken on a journey of discovery, passion and pain, one to be remembered for a long time.

I so enjoyed reading this wonderfully crafted story. I loved the way Trish Morey shows her readers that the power of love can heal all wounds and bring so much joy!


Book Description:

When Ruby Clemenger inherits half of the Bastiani Pearl Corporation, she knows that her life is about to get complicated.

Zane Bastiani, the pearl master's son, wants rid of Ruby—he thinks she was his father's mistress and can be easily bought. But Ruby's price is high. Unable to pay her off with cash, Zane decides to seduce Ruby into submission. He has nothing to lose—until he discovers Ruby is innocent…in every way….

THE DEVIL & THE JUNIOR LEAGUE - Linda Francis Lee


I'm so glad that Linda Francis Lee is back writing. She's a genius in telling the tale of The Devil and the Junior League. if you love "he's done me wrong", took my money, is having an affair, plus my high society reputation is at stake, then you've got to read this book. It's Dallas and Desperate Housewives and more....it's sassy, sensitive and at times sad.
The story takes place in a small Texas town where you're no one if you're not in the crème of high society and a member of the Jr. League. All Hell busts loose when the once beauty and homecoming queen, and high society Frede's finds that husband had an affair, runs off with all of her money and her reputation is at stake. She hires the loud, bawdy lawyer next door to find her husband and represent her. His fee is to get his "tacky" wife who wears animal print and spandex into the Jr. League.

Besides being a good read, there are lots of life's lessons to ponder. I highly recommend this book for women of all ages. I can actually picture this book being made into a movie and I can see Reese Witherspoon in the role of Frede.

TAKE ME - Lucy Monroe


Lucy Monroe is a master storyteller and this book, Take ME (and what a title) is no exception. It's full of tension, drama and heart! It's so obvious to the reader that this author feels deeply about her characters. Each time I pick up one of her books, I'm amazed how she personally touches my heart and those of her fans. Thanks Lucy for an incredible historical series Tempt Me, Touch Me and Take Me. Bravo!

Romantic Times rates Take Me 4 1/2 stars. Romance Junkies has given it a great review along with reviews posted on Barnes and Noble.

AT THE SHEIKH'S COMMAND - Kate Walker


At first glance they are lost………Malik the sheikh and beautiful proud Abbie who wants her brother out of jail. They see each other from afar and immediately there is lust, desire and tension.

Malik is regal, sexy, stern, determined…. all of the characteristics one would expect of royal blood and a sheikh. He has come to England to meet with Abbie’s father concerning the release of her brother from a Barakhara jail. Neither knows the truth about each other until one evening the truth is revealed and Abbie's hopes are shattered. Malik has come to England to offer pardon if Abbie marries his brother, the Sheikh of Barakhara (his half brother).

Abbie is so sexually and passionately drawn to Malik that she isn’t herself. The events are turbulent; an interesting mix to the storyline. Abbie’s desire for Malik, her pending marriage to his half brother and then a country in turmoil plus seeing Malik again after weeks of trying to forget him. This love story is as hot as the burning desert sun!

Kate Walker has yet again penned a powerful and promising love story full of passion, tension and drama set in the desert sun. Their love story will grip your heart and provide hours of reading enjoyment.

Welcome to My Romance Review Blog

This is a place for readers and lovers of contemporary romance and romance suspense to read my reviews and post comments.



The Pink Heart Society is a Blog for Category Romance and hosts writers from the US, UK, Australia and New Zealand. I've agreed to review for them and I'm so excited. So if you love Harlequin Presents or category, please drop in and see what's going on in the Blog.

I also post reviews on Romance Design, New and Used Books and We Write Romance. Why? Because I love romance books!
 

web page counters