Saturday, July 31, 2010

Take Me Tonight - Roxanne St. Claire (Bullet Catchers)



You won't be disappointed with Take Me Tonight; it's another wonderful addition to Roxanne St. Claire's Bullet Catcher series.

Want fantasy? Passion? A sexy hero? A spunky woman who gives as good as she gets? Then, Take Me is for you and you won't be sorry you've taken the journey and the rollercoaster ride while reading this book that sizzles, simmers and entertains.

I am such a fan of Roxanne's and this Bullet Catcher series is wonderful and Take Me Tonight is no exception! Johnny and Sage's journey in finding the killer of Sage's friend and sealing their fate will be a journey you'll long remember. As for this Bullet Catcher, watch out, he's not only tough, sexy and handsome, he can cook as well!

Book Description:

What do thrill-seeking women want?
A fantasy-fulfilling abduction...an exciting rescue by a scorching hot guy...with an unforgettable night of passion. So they go to www.takemetonite.com -- and then they die.

Someone has to stop it.

When Sage Valentine discovers that her roommate's shocking suicide might be related to a website that provides edgy, thrill-seeking entertainment, she immediately books her own "abduction" to get some answers. But her "rescuer" isn't really who she thinks he is....Johnny Christiano is dedicated to the Bullet Catchers, who saved him from a wise guy's life of crime and turned him into an elite bodyguard. When he's assigned to stop Sage's kidnapping, he's unexpectedly trapped between deceit and sizzling desire. But the closer Johnny and Sage get to the truth, the closer danger stalks them...until death is only a double-click away.

Thrill Me to Death - Roxanne St. Claire (Bullet Catchers)




Thrill Me to Death is an exceptional addition to Roxanne St. Claire's Bullet Catcher series. It's emotionally packed with all sorts of twists, turns and danger not to mention the sensual tension and scenes between the main characters Max and Cori.

If you've read St. Claire's books Max Roper, first appeared in Tropical Getaway, her debut novel. Max left the DEA and followed his best buddy, Dan to the security and personal protection business as a Bullet Catcher. Max also makes an appearance in the first book of the series, KILL ME TWICE One gets the impression that Max is not only handsome and strong but shows absolutely no emotion. Wrong..... in this book, the reader will absolutely fall in love with this man who keeps to himself, holds back and will soon have the answers revealed in his past.

Enter Cori Peyton, Max's Bullet Catcher assignment. Max is assigned to protect Cori and is hired to be her bodyguard and security expert. They have a past history, at one time they were in love and hoped to marry. However, things happened and Cori ended up marrying an older millionaire who has died and his death is being questioned and Cori's now in possible danger. Max is to sort this out and put all personal feelings aside.

I enjoyed THRILL ME TO DEATH due to the danger, the cast of characters and of course the romance. Max and Cori's love story is so full of passion and tension and how they find their way back to each other is an emotional rollercoaster ride. There are so many twists and turns to this very exciting romance/suspense and again St. Claire has written a winner!

There are other interesting characters, her stepson, attorney, best friend Breezy and a cast of other Bullet Catcher's. Again, Roxanne St.Claire has written an entertaining and steamy story.

Book Description:

Former DEA agent Max Roper finds love again in this well-balanced romantic suspense novel, the second installment of St. Claire's Bullet Catcher series. Max is a member of the Bullet Catchers, an elite team of bodyguards made up of former government agents. His latest assignment is to protect Cori Peyton, widow of recently murdered billionaire William Peyton.

Five years ago, Max and Cori were a couple on the verge of engagement; when Cori's father, Max's old partner at the DEA, died in a drug bust gone bad, Cori blamed Max, and ended their affair. Dogged by both the rekindling passion between them and suspicions about the secretive Cori's motives—did she kill her husband?—the stoic bodyguard delves into Cori and William's life by whatever means necessary: "He knew a million ways to get information. With Cori, a million and one."

As Max and Cori discover that she's a target for the mystery killers, the two uncover an intricate web of greed and deceit that traces back to Peyton Enterprises. St. Claire's ability to evenly match sultry romance with enticing suspense make this novel a superior entry into the romantic suspense game.

Kill Me Twice (Bullet Catchers) - Roxanne St. Claire




KILL ME TWICE, the first in Roxanne St. Claire's Bullet Catcher series is set in Miami Beach with the most incredible sexy, talented, and hot Cuban born bodyguard you will ever come to know, Alex Romero. Alex is hired to protect Jessica Adams, a Miami newscaster who is about to write a very powerful expose which will put her at the top of her field and land her in New York. Jessica asks her identical twin, Jazz, a PI, to fill in for her at the Miami TV station so that she can go undercover to get her story. When Jazz arrives in Miami, she finds that Alex, a bodyguard has been hired to protect her twin, due to personal threats on her life. Now her sister is missing and not to be found. From there on, these two very capable, strong willed and fiery people team up and begin a journey and search for Jessica that will knock your socks off.

I found this book suspenseful, powerful, intriguing and extremely sensual. The Bullet Catcher organization is headed up by an amazing ex-CIA agent, Lucy Sharpe. Lucy also has on her team, two additional strong and sexy men, Max Roper and Dan Gallagher. The stores of these bodyguards and security specialists will be continued in future Bullet Catcher Series.

KILL ME TWICE, I believe will be one of Roxanne St. Claire's best romance/suspense novel. This book truly deserves five stars and more! I can hardly wait until THRILL ME TO DEATH (Max Roper's story) will be released.

Book Description:

WATCH YOUR BACK

Alex Romero is the hottest "Bullet Catcher" in the business. Tall, dark, and deadly if necessary, this high-priced bodyguard's got the muscle and the moves -- especially when it comes to the ladies. Alex can keep his beautiful clients out of danger, but sometimes they can't keep their hands off of him. Now Alex has one last chance to prove he belongs among the elite force known as The Bullet Catchers, but his assignment is stacked...against him.

WATCH YOUR HEART

Private investigator Jasmine Adams is fiercely independent and fearless under pressure -- she doesn't need some hunk-for-hire's help to catch the creep stalking her twin sister. But when Jazz uncovers bigger forces targeting her sister for death, she's glad to have Alex's brain and brawn handy. From the steamy streets of Miami to the sultry beaches of Key West, Alex and Jazz try to fight temptation as they race to keep a madman from fulfilling his promise to kill not just once, but twice. And some temptations are too powerful to resist....

Hit Reply - Roxanne St.Claire




When I saw Hit Reply on the shelves I knew I immediately wanted to read this book because I had read other books by Roxanne St. Claire.

However, when I opened the book and began to read it, I was amazed that the entire story was written in email form. Suddenly I thought how am I going to read this entire book? Well let me tell you, I couldn't put it down. Hit Reply was great! It's a wonderful story about three women of different ages and personalities......a book on relationships, feelings and takes email to a new level. It centers on an ad agency, featuring three ladies, the ex-employee now consultant...hot and sexy married Stevie. Amber, her at one time admin, now traffic manager...carefree woman who is getting ready to contact an old high school boyfriend. And finally, Julie, Amber's admin in her 40's who finds a lost romance online (major league ballplayer) and goes back and forth as to whether or not she should meet up with the guy.

This book is sexy, hot and very emotional. A romance to enjoy while eating chocolate or ice cream and you'd better have those tissues handy! It's another great story by Roxanne.

Book Description:

Written in the time-honored epistolary style but with a modern twist, St. Claire's entertaining tale introduces three women and the men who love them (or not) through e-mail messages.

Amber is in advertising, and she is facing her 10-year high-school reunion. She puts her information on an Internet classmate finder and is soon in touch with the bad boy she has never forgotten. He is totally not what she is looking for, but as his e-mails get steamier, she reconsiders her options.

Stephanie is a stay-at-home mom who's terribly lonely and worried that her husband is having an affair. Amber gives her e-mail to a former coworker Stephanie almost slept with, and their relationship rekindles online.

Julie is a divorced empty nester now working as Amber's assistant, and she, too, decides to use the computer to look up an old flame. It's amazing how well the cyber format delivers the story and how provocatively St. Claire raises such searching questions as "Is a cyber romance cheating?

Flirting With Forty - Jane Porter



Flirting with Forty is a must read for all women whether single or in a relationship as one learns though the main character's journey to "be all that you can be". It's a story so profound it will have you laughing and crying at the same time. It's a story of dreams, hope and learning to be comfortable with one's self.

Once I began the journey with Jackie the main character, I honestly couldn't put this book down. I saw so much of myself in this woman; as a mother, as a wife and as a person. Just reading the story made me want to want more for me!

As the character Jackie points out sometimes we loose ourselves along the way. We get so caught up in life that we loose ourselves and we blindly accept fate. So, what's wrong with taking a chance, having an adventure, discovering your self, receiving pleasure? Absolutely nothing!

This book is not just about falling in love; it's about relationships, friendships and finding the courage to grow. As Jane points out, "growing up doesn't have to mean growing old". Amen

I loved Jane's The Frog Prince her first endeavor in women's fiction and anxiously waited for Flirting with Forty. Again, Jane Porter has outdone herself with this incredible heartwarming story. Reading it has personally given me the courage to begin anew, to explore options and yes, to encourage me "to be all that I can be"!

The Frog Prince - Jane Porter



The Frog Prince readers are taken to a new realm in discovering who you are and this book takes "relationships" to a new level. If you were raised to believe in fairy tales and along would come Prince Charming, then you will definitely relate to this book.

It's an exploration into marriage, mother/daughter, sibling, friendship, and dating relationships.

Holly the central character has been raised to be the "good girl", don't kiss on the first date, have a good reputation and basically keep your innermost feelings to yourself. She felt she really didn't know her mother nor her siblings and for the most part in her family, on the outside looking in.

She marries Jean-Marc and thought this was an answer to her happiness. However, the marriage fails and she is empty and doesn't know how to ask for help from her family and friends. Relocation is Holly's only answer where she is now faced with a new city, new job and new friends. Here she learns there are no second chances and one can only move forward. Holly explores her past and what her future might hold.

This book makes the reader take a look at themselves as to why we need love, what makes a person special, do we suffer from family guilt, can we move forward and put past relationships behind and most important is there happy ever after? For the main character Holly, this was about learning who she was and moving forward. "It's the story of a young woman falling in love...with herself. She discovers that she is wonderful, she's always been wonderful, all she has to do is trust herself".

For me, this book hit right to the center of my heart! It was an exploration into my past, present and future as well. I sincerely recommend this book especially if you're a "Baby Boomer" and if you're not, this book will have a special meaning, I promise.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

MIA AND THE POWERFUL GREEK (The Balfour Legacy Series – Michelle Reid



Mia and the Powerful Greek sets the stage for the Balfour Legacy series. Also author Michelle Reid’s online read on Eharlequin, Scandal at The Balfour Ball.

I was so thrilled to have read this book as Mia Bianchi was one smart, sexy and sizzling Italian heroine and Oscar Balfour’s illegitmate daughter. Her untimely arrival at Balfour Manor had caused all sorts of things with her father trying to keep her a secret, the untimely death of his wife and now a scandal. However Oscar wanted to teach his daughters a few of life’s lessons and the first daughter he chose was Mia. Oscar sent her to a one of his business associates, a powerful, dark, handsome and successful Greek billionaire!

Nikos Theakis was the perfect Greek hero as far as I was concerned. He came from poverty, abusive parents, and he came up the hard way. However, he owed everything to Oscar Balfour because he was the man he was today because of Oscar! But take in his daughter, teach her about business, social settings, give her confidence and integrity? The very same beautiful young woman he almost ran over at her parents estate? The very same woman with a “cheeky” mouth, lush curves and determination? What had he agreed to, and what was he going to do with her?

Talk about chemistry, he’s constantly touching her and he’s not even aware. For a man who goes through women like one would change his socks, Mia drives him crazy with her beautiful eyes, long flowing hair, sexy sultry voice and the same holds true for her. She may be an innocent but not for long! She loves him and when they act on their passion, it goes seriously up in flames but it becomes complicated when she finds out she’s pregnant!

What I so loved about Mia and the Powerful Greek was how Michelle Reid tied both of their feelings into knots. Mia definitely wanted love from him whereas due to his abusive past he didn’t know how to love. People viewed this proud Greek as a successful business man, a very handsome man with a string of beautiful women in his past. They didn’t know he never slept alone, that he didn’t have locks on his doors and it was even more brilliant how she chose to put Mia in Greece right along with the very mother that gave her up and how in the end Niko’s realized he loved Mia. This is going to be such an exciting series and I can’t wait to read about the other Balfour sisters!

Book Description”

While scrubbing floors, Mia dreams of a better life. Then she discovers she's a Balfour—the illegitimate daughter of one of the world's richest dynasties! Thrust headfirst into her new family's spectacularly glamorous lifestyle, she's scared….

But then comes an opportunity to learn about high society, through the chance to work for Greek tycoon Nikos Theakis, who struggled his way up, himself, from the slums of Athens to Millionaire's Row. Nikos has got where he is by always having taken what he wanted…. Until Mia's sweetness and integrity stop him in his tracks…



Behind the Book:

What do you enjoy most about writing as part of a continuity series; how does it differ to writing a single title?

This was my first attempt at writing for a Continuity series, and I enjoyed the challenge of creating a story from someone else’s ideas. However the real challenge for me had to be disciplining myself to keep the story within continuity guidelines when my writer’s head wanted to shoot off in all different directions!

Did you identify with Balfour sister you were writing about?

Oh gosh no. Mia Balfour was born and brought up Italy, so I had to teach myself to think like an Italian heroine! I do this all the time with my Italian heroes but it felt somehow quite different climbing into the head of an Italian heroine. And Mia was so young and sweet and vulnerable and brave, I admired her from the beginning and I loved “learning” to understand her.

Which sister’s hero did you find most appealing?

Besides Mia’s hero Nikos Theakis? I thought long and hard about this question but each time I decided on an answer I instantly changed my mind. So I suppose I have to say that I found them all appealing!


Michelle’s website

Saturday, July 24, 2010

ONE NIGHT...NINE-MONTH SCANDAL - Sarah Morgan




To use the adjectives amazing, marvelous, incredible doesn’t even describe One Night……Nine-Month Scandal. Alekos Zagorakis is unlike any Greek alpha I’ve read about. Yes he’s typical with the wounded past, he’s tall, dark, handsome and very very rich but he just can’t seem to get it right when it involved Kelly Jenkins, the woman he left at the altar four years earlier.

Now Kelly was doing the unthinkable, she was selling the fabulous heirloom diamond ring he gave her, his grandmother’s ring, her engagement ring. And she's selling it on EBay! Kelly was like no other heroine, she loved this man, she spoke freely, she was sweet, kind, adored children, was a teacher and charmed all people she met. She only loved one man, a very confusing Greek man and he left her at the altar, humiliated her in the press, yet four years later she still loved him. However, what she didn’t understand was how he could hurt her like he did but it was time for her to move on, so she decided to sell the diamond, not so much for herself but for closure and yes to make a statement, because the man she so loved was publicly seeing a famous Greek dress designer and it looked serious. And it hurt!

Of course, this proud Greek alpha buys the diamond for four million dollars and came to collect it himself! Call it what you want, lust, passion it leaps off the pages between Kelly and Alekos and when they returned to her home to get the ring they acted on their passion in a most irresponsible way. In the end a pregnancy! A pregnancy Kelly wanted very much and one Alekos did not!

Kelly drove him insane, so much so that he ended his relationship with the Greek designer and sent for Kelly on his private jet and brought her to Corfu. Kelly tried to tell him why they failed, as hard as it was for him, he tried to open up and share why he left her at the altar because he actually didn’t want children. There was a good reason for that because when he was six years old his parents made him choose who he would live with and it took its toll on him. As for Kelly, well she knew what it was like to hope her father would make time for her but he never did…….she was always waiting, hoping and she didn’t want that for herself or her child.

There were so many twists and turns to this romance, so many ups and downs I just kept reading all through the night because One Night……Nine Month Scandal literally captivated me, kept me holding my breath, had my heart racing and all I wanted for this couple was that happy ending! You won’t believe the ending Sarah Morgan gave these lovers, it was simply amazing!



Behind the Book

The idea for One Night – Nine Month Scandal came to me while I was on holiday on the beautiful Greek island of Corfu last year.

Corfu is one of my favourite places - sparkling turquoise sea, golden sand and the most breathtaking sunsets. It’s the perfect setting for a sizzling hot Presents romance.

One hot morning we hired a boat and sailed around the coast to deserted beaches that couldn’t be reached on foot. While we were swimming off the boat, enjoying the clear water and the marine life (my family were watching the marine life, I was looking for sharks because I’m a writer and that’s how my brain works.....) another small boat sailed into the bay and a young couple swam from the boat to the beach.

Later, talking to the locals, we realised that the beach was private and belonged to a rich Athenian who had a holiday home on the island, tucked away out of sight.

I started imagining what would happen if an ordinary English girl on her gap year just happened to innocently swim to the private beach of a Greek billionaire. Soon the story was racing ahead in my mind. I decided that this relationship would be passionate and intense right from the beginning – that my heroine Kelly would be completely swept away by her handsome Greek lover, Alekos. Under the red glow of that romantic sunset he would propose marriage and Kelly would dress for her wedding, sure that she would be with this man for the rest of her life. But on the day of the wedding all her dreams would collapse..........

As I played with the idea I realised that the real story would begin afterwards, when they’d been apart for some years. Bringing them back together was easy – I’ve always wanted to do a scene where the heroine sells her ring on eBay and this was the perfect opportunity. When Alekos sees that she’s selling his ring he explodes right back into her life. The intense passion is still there, but this time they are forced to dig deeper and get to know each other and, as they unpeel the layers of secrets, they each make shocking discoveries –

To read the opening chapter of One Night – Nine Month Scandal, go to my website www.sarahmorgan.com and click on Browse the Book or the Coming Soon page. Hope you enjoy!

A recent author interview.

More discussions about the book at I(Heart)Presents
Book Description:

She sold the Zagorakis diamond…but he’ll buy her back!

A sleek Ferrari in the sleepy English village of Little Molting was always going to create a stir – but for schoolteacher Kelly it only means one thing. Her ex, Alekos Zagorakis, has stormed back into her life the way he left it: completely on his own terms.

Four years ago Kelly stood, bouquet in hand, realising that her gorgeous Greek groom wasn’t walking down the aisle to meet her. Now he’s come back to claim what’s rightfully his – and that includes one night with Kelly…

…with a nine-month consequence!

Thursday, July 22, 2010

PROPOSITIONED BY THE BILLIONAIRE - Lucy King






Propositioned by the Billionaire by Lucy King was absolutely a magnificent love story and a very sensual and intense journey for Phoebe and Alex within weeks of meeting each other. It was one of those beautiful love stories once you began you had to finish it leaving you smiling one moment and crying the next.

Phoebe Jackson came from a family of over achievers with most of her siblings having PHD’s in high-powered positions. From her parents to her siblings she never felt good enough even though she was good at what she did and had her own PR Firm. And now she’s done something that no one else could; she secured a highly coveted venue for Jo Douglas, launching her new purse line and was determined to get fashion houses to buy her handbags. However, Jo’s boyfriend was drunk and was wrestling not just with a bottle of champagne but also with a flamingo, six stories up and dancing around in a pool. Phoebe was beside herself and determined not to have anything ruin Jo’s event, so she tried to take care of the boyfriend and then he swung the bottle and this dashing, strong man wrestled him to the ground and got rid of him.

Alex Gilbert was furious with his younger sister Jo because she didn’t use his PR firm for her event. He was jet lagged and determined to fire her PR person. What he didn’t realize was Phoebe was that person and he had just picked her up making sure she was not hurt and kissed her senseless. For both Phoebe and Alex it was an electric and sensual moment. And then everything fell apart, from Alex realizing Phoebe was not only the owner of Jackson Communications, she was also running inside as his sister’s handbags were on fire. Could she do damage control and save his sister’s name and reputation?

The answer was yes but he still wanted to fire her. Talk about sneaky, he offered her the chance to keep working with Jo, but he gave her a unbelievable task of flying with him to his private island to oversee a fund raiser and he was sure she would fail. The deal was if she failed, then he could take over using his own firm. What neither of them counted on while on the island was their passion for each other. It ignited and went up in flames. However, unbeknown to them was disaster going on back home with Alex’s sister so they had to immediately and take care of the PR nightmare.

Their passion was like neither of them had ever experienced and they continued seeing each other when they returned back to London. All I can say is it was such a blazing and hot romance, with some ups and downs. Alex has trust and guilt issues from his past and Phoebe had such a lack of confidence, even though she knew she was good at what she did, the effects from her upbringing and the fact that she might let her family down took it’s toll on her, plus she also suffered guilt. So when he asked her to begin an affair she refused but later changed her mind because she didn’t want to let Alex go.

Alex was a very private man. When a tabloid magazine came out with both of their pictures in it, showing them together in intimate settings, with some quotes, he immediately jumped to conclusion that Phoebe was responsible for them and it ripped out her heart. Reading Alex’s struggle to see her for the genuine and lovely woman she was, broke my heart and Phoebe’s need for him so sweet because she was going to fight for her man. Propositioned by the Billionaire was such a sweet and wonderful love story ….simply amazing!



Behind the Book:

“A year or so ago I read somewhere that PR was one of the few industries not to suffer in a recession, and it got me thinking. Modern Heat is about glamour and what better excuse to write about parties? I then decided to give my heroine her own PR Company and an over-achieving family and focused on what would be her worst nightmare. Everything else sort of slotted into place. Eventually.” Lucy King



Book Description:

Mixing business with pleasure has never been more fun!

When a drop-dead gorgeous mystery man comes to PR exec Phoebe Jackson’s rescue at a party she’s hosting, she can’t help but be tempted by the sparks of desire igniting between them…and soon both their attraction and the party go up in flames…

But her rescuer is Alex Gilbert – and he has her career in his hands! Now Alex has a daring proposition for her: she must prove her worth by staging a prestigious charity event on an island paradise or she’ll be fired! It would normally be a walk in the park for Phoebe – but with the oh-so-sexy Alex by her side 24/7 can she keep her mind on the job…?

Monday, July 19, 2010

HIS RING, HER BABY - Maxine Sullivan




His Ring, Her Baby was a compelling romance, part of Billionaire and Babies series by Maxine Sullivan. A very sensual romance with sparks flying.

Vanessa Hamilton was in a world of trouble. She had lost her husband, had his parents hounding her for custody of her one year old son, had no money and thank God for her cousin who provided shelter for them while she helped them at their motel. Then Vanessa’s cousins Linda and Hugh informed her they had sold the motel. On top of that one of the most gorgeous men she had ever seen billionaire Kirk Deverill walked in and when their eyes met it was electric, so much so he asked her out for dinner.

Kirk kept asking and Vanessa kept refusing. Just one kiss and he knew he wanted more and then he felt betrayed because he knew she was aware he needed a housekeeper and she was looking for a job and a place to stay. He felt she worked everyone to get what she wanted. Pressured by her cousin Linda, he offered Vanessa and her son Josh a place to stay and a job as housekeeper on his extraordinary ranch located in the Outback and at first their relationship was tense. Gradually Kirk became more involved in Josh’s life and felt more at ease around Vanessa but there was always the strong sensual tension between them and he always seemed to be rescuing her. Due to his last relationship he did not to trust women, however with this one, he was drawn in like a moth to a flame. Their passion exploded but Kirk was keeping a secret, one that would keep him from marrying.

Her ex-in laws came unannounced and it was obvious to Kirk they were snobs and that had no feelings for Vanessa, in fact they annoyed her and were critical. Again, Kirk felt the need to protect them. And then he took them both on a business dinner dance and their time spent together was magical until the little one became ill. Again her in-laws tried to cause trouble and Kirk again came to the rescue. And then she realized she loved this man who put himself before others.

Again due to a slip of the tongue, things came crashing down on them and he made arrangements for her to leave. Would Vanessa wake up and fight for her man? We all love a happy ending and this one will have you smiling at how this beautiful woman and her son found their future together with Kirk, giving them all a chance for a real family.



Behind the Book

Book Description:

The job title was housekeeper, not fiancée! But billionaire cattleman Kirk Deverill couldn't throw the lovely single mom off his ranch. Especially when he knew the job would help her keep her son. Of course, the eligible bachelor hadn't expected her to tell everyone she was also Kirk's bride-to-be!

He agreed to Vanessa's ruse for her adorable son's sake. And for the opportunity to claim some "husbandly" pleasures. Of course, making their fake engagement a real union was never going to happen. The Outback loner had his reasons...and even the most desirable of women wouldn't get him to change his mind.

Saturday, July 17, 2010

SOS: CONVENIENT HUSBAND REQUIRED - Liz Fielding





SOS: Convenient Husband Required by Liz Fielding was a sweet romance with a few twists thrown in for good measure. The heroine May Coleridge a strong and loyal woman and Adam Wavell a sexy hero who was an accomplished billionaire and a man from May’s past……a man she once loved but had to give up!

After May’s grandfather dies and the will went to probate her attorney found that the family home that had been the only home she ever had was not to be inherited from her grandfather due to a clause that she must be married by her 30th birthday which was only weeks away. She had staff who depended on her, she ran a small business from her home and had also taken out a loan for improvements. All of it would be lost. When her grandfather had been alive, May had also taken care of him, she also was to be married but in the end she backed out of getting married because her fiance wanted to put her grandfather in a nursing home.

Every time Adam walked by Coleridge House he remembered as a teen trying to make love to May Coleridge, bringing her red roses and having her grandfather turn the hose on him in the dead of winter. And then he remembered May would no longer look at him nor talk to him. She was a close friend of his sister Saffy. He also remember sneaking into their stables and helping her take care of all of the animals she would rescue and he called her “mouse”. And now Adam needed May because his sister snuck into his office past his security and left her baby along with a note and disappeared. However, she also suggested that he as May for help until she got her life in order and came back for her baby. However, it was more complicated than that because she left France and her boyfriend was looking for her as he wanted his baby and she fled.

So May and Adam each had a problem…..May needed a husband of convenience and Adam needed a Nanny. He was soon to leave the country for a huge business deal so he set off along with his baby niece Nancie to ask May for help only to see her up in a tree rescuing a kitten. So she falls out of the tree and lands on him and they end up in a muddy puddle. What a day for them both, so they go back to Coleridge House to clean up and to talk about his sister and could he entice May to take care of her? And then May spills the beans and tells him what her problem is and being the smart man he was he offered her the marriage of convenience she needed to keep her family estate and in return she would take care of Nancie. And Adam moved his things in that evening and with a smirk decided he would get a little revenge from her grandfather and he would sleep in the old man’s four poster bed knowing that he was probably rolling over in his grave.

The chemistry between them over the years had not diminished in fact with them both taking care of Nancie, with Adam organizing their wedding, getting reacquainted came naturally for them both. Adam would have any woman he wanted but after kissing May to seal the deal, all of the hurt she had caused him years ago, went right out the door. It left both of them wanting more. And then his sister called the evening before he left for South America on business causing stress for both of them. Adam was away for weeks and Saffy showed up and moved in with May. And then a chain of events happened which could have changed everything for both of them making one wonder if they would get their second chance because it was obvious they were both drawn to each other.

I so enjoyed reading SOS” Convenient Husband Required as it was a very engaging and fast paced romance.



Behind the Book from Dear Reader


Back Blurb:

May Coleridge must marry before she's thirty to inherit her family home and keep her new business afloat.

Adam Wavell comes from a long line of wastrels—but he's turned his life around. He's a corporate success story and a pillar of the community. Only, now his flaky sister has left him with her screaming baby!

A deal must be done. May will help Adam with his niece if he'll answer her SOS!

Friday, July 16, 2010

July Contest Thanks to Harlequin Ambassadors




Harlequin Ambassadors sent me (5) Love Inspired books which I'm giving away. 4 1/2 stars on Amazon and 5 stars at Barnes and Noble.

Synopsis

When contacted by her long-lost grandmother, Lauren McKaslin wanted to reconnect—with all the warmhearted Montana McKaslin’s. For too long, she'd relied solely on herself and her faith. But mistrustful lawman Caleb Stone stood in the way, and his questions about her were intimidating. Was his attention more than a protective instinct? Now that she believed in family again, perhaps this was also the time to believe in true love….

Reviews here

To win a copy, leave your email here and go over to Book Blogger, Author and Publishers Giveaways, follow them and come back here and let me know what you've done.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Her Sheik Protector (Desert Sons) – Linda Conrad


Her Sheik Protector by Linda Conrad is the first book in her Desert Sons miniseries and was not only interesting to read but kept me on the edge of my seat with all of the intense intrigue and danger.

This was so unlike most sheik books which are usually set in the desert. The heroine Riley Hunt was from Texas and Darin Kadir even though he was from a Middle Eastern bedouin tribe, the book began in Geneva, Switzerland and then moved on to Milan.

Rylie’s father, Darin’s uncle, dignitaries, Hunt employees and the press were attending the grand opening celebration of Hunt Drilling. Before Rylie’s eyes, she witnessed a huge explosion which took all of their lives. It took six long months for her to heal. Because Kadir Shipping was also involved in the partnership, Rylie was going to attend a conference in Geneva and get to the bottom of things because she suspected the Kadir’s to be responsible for the explosion. She would make them pay because she and her mother had lost everything by trying to do the right thing and pay off the Hunt employees families who had lost their loved ones.

Kadir being the oldest felt it was his responsibility to attend the very same World Industry and Shipping conference in Switzerland. He and his brothers thought because of a century old feud between the Kadir and Taj Zabbar family, they might have been responsible for the explosion due to recent changes in the Taj Zabbar family’s financial and political positions.

So much for being subtle……the spunky redhead who was barley able to stand and still weak from the accident, literally accused Darin and his family of her father’s death. And then such an unbelievable chain of events occurred. During the conference they noticed each other across the room but Rylie knew which one was Darin Kadir, with eyes locked on her, Darin witnessed her on unsteady legs fall to the floor and he was at her side immediately. Then she told him who she was an accused his family of being responsible for the explosion.

Darin and Rylie set up a meeting at a bar to discuss the explosion and then everything went haywire, from Taj Zabbar watching them, from the head of their family trying to abduct her in hopes of finding out information she might know. Then attempted kidnapping of Rylie, Darin killing one of the abductors and finding a Taj Zabbar secret document. Darin agreed with his brother’s to bring the document to Milan where they suspected the Taj Zabbar would try to follow. Rylie followed Darin and he had no choice but to take her with him to protect her. Then they both boarded a train to Milan and everything changes! Trust me, it was brilliant how everything was tied together and how Linda Conrad documented the family feud and the history of the two families. Don’t think the feud is over.

What I loved about Her Sheik Protector was immediately Darin Kadish new they were destined to be together. And for him that was quite something because he protected his brother’s after their mother died, he was afraid to love but in the end after they made love he was so moved and determined to have and protect this woman it was fierce. Darren was a planner and a man with lists. A man who didn’t fall in love; however Rylie moved him to tears. she was his…..had to be his and he would go to any lengths to protect her!

And Rylie, she was determined, strong, feisty and scared because she loved this man only after a few days together. He gave her magic and he scared her to death. But let me just say this, her determination to help him, in the end. what she would do for him was so incredible. I can’t remember ever reading about such a strong heroine as Rylie and in the end how she dealt with everything ……the abductions, the attacks, everything……she was fierce!

Her Sheik Protector was an high paced romance suspense combining family, feuds, passion, danger all rolled into one. I’m certainly adding Ms. Conrad to my auto-buy list and I look forward to the next story in this miniseries.

Behind the Book from Dear Reader

Back Blurb:

Darin Kadir had to protect American Rylie Hunt at all costs. Seeking answers, she'd traveled halfway around the world to find him. Now she is a target of his family's arch nemesis and must trust Darin in order to survive.

Caught up in a covert war between two families, Rylie wants only to find her father's killers and bring them to justice. She doesn't want to fall in love. But the desire burning in Darin's eyes is unlike anything she's ever known. Will she surrender her heart—or become a casualty of a war across the ages?

Linda's website

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

July Recipe of the Month


I saw this on Susan Mallery's Facebook Page. At our cabin on Hood Canal during the summer months we always have s'mores. Here is an interesting take.

Recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookie S’Mores

Ingredients:

2 dozen chocolate chip cookies – homemade or store-bought
144 mini marshmallows (approximate)
144 chocolate chips (approximate)

Preheat the grill to medium-high. Place one chocolate chip cookie on a square of aluminum foil. Put about six mini marshmallows and about six chocolate chips on the cookie. If the marshmallows roll off, then split them with your finger and press the sticky side into the cookie. Place a second cookie flat-side up on top of the marshmallow layer. Wrap loosely (but airtight) with the foil. Grill over direct heat about 4 minutes on each side. Unwrap carefully. Yield: 1 dozen s’mores

Next time, I’m going to try these with peanut butter cookies. Kids should love these easy treats. You can even make them if you’re going camping! (As long as you remember to bring helmets.)


Saturday, July 10, 2010

THE GOOD GREEK WIFE - Kate Walker



The Good Greek Wife? by author Kate Walker was an intriguing romance which addressed piracy on the high seas. It made this reader wonder how one would feel if your husband’s vessel had been boarded like those incidents which have appeared recently in the news? I would be devastated to think of the person I loved being threatened , killed or missing in action and gone for two years. And that was the case with shipping magnate Zarek Michaelis. All he physically suffered and then not remembering who he was or if he had a family.

After pirates boarded his yacht the Troy, he was injured and thrown overboard and left for dead. However, he was rescued by a wealthy man from Malta and suffered amnesia for over two years. However, even though he didn’t know his identity, he was troubled during the day and night because for some reason embedded in his heart and head he knew their was someone else in his life. Some one of importance . So when he finally remembered his identity, he sent an investigator to his Greece homeland to investigate the lay of things with his stepmother and brothers, his shipping empire and his wife. And then as planned, he walked in on his family during a board meeting in which they were going to declare him legally dead. Shocking them all with the fact that he was alive! Can you imagine the impact that would have had on his greedy family and his grieving wife?

Penny Michaelis for the past two years since her husband had disappeared had been running his company and maintaining his estate. From the first moment she met him, she fell instantly fell in love with him and when they consummated their love on their wedding night she knew she loved him even more. And then over the months she realized it was a dream, that he really lusted after her and wanted an heir. Love was not involved and they argued, especially when he found out she was taking the pill and told him she didn’t want a baby. They argued the night he sailed away on the Troy and now he was presumably dead and she wanted to move on. But could she? For the past two years she left everything in his bedroom the same, the clothes in his closets and drawers, had taking up caring for his beloved dog, had learned to cook his favorite dishes. That didn’t sound to me like a woman who didn’t love nor miss her husband.

The majority of The Good Greek Wife, addressed their issues of what each of them expected from each other. However, they really didn't talk about those issues, they danced around them. It was like being on a seesaw, each one accusing the other but there was one thing for sure, the sexual attraction was so strong and Penny fought it while Zarek wanted to act upon it. They so didn’t understand each others feelings and all I could think of was they needed a referee.

The conflict kept building until I wondered if they would ever get their second chance. Kate Walker’s building up to the ending had me twisting my hands because I wondered if one of them would give up and walk out. The Good Greek Wife was just that because the heroine in the end knew she couldn’t live with her husband. But hold on to your hat, because Zarek, the hero shows and makes a miraculous declaration, giving this roller coaster romance a very happy ending. It was very clever how the author tied in Greek mythology to the ending of her “classic modern love story”.

Wednesday, July 07, 2010



High Society Secret Baby by Desire author Maxine Sullivan takes family drama to a new high! Talk about two people who gave up so much for the people they loved certainly deserved a chance at love and happiness, didn’t they?

Dominic Roth was an amazing man the perfect hero and an honorable one on top of everything. He would do just about anything for his family and he did when his dying brother Liam asked him to donate sperm so he and his wife Cassandra could have a child before he died. The very same woman Dominic secretly had lusted after.

Cassandra lost her parents at a young age, was sent to foster home and then to another foster home where the people adopted her and another girl Penny who Cassandra considered a sister. Her foster mom passed away and her father had to be put into a nursing facility for health care. It was so expensive that when her husband Liam declared he wanted a child and she didn’t, she bargained with him to pay for her father’s health care and then she would agree to have his baby. However, after Liam died she received a letter stating that she must marry his brother Dominic, that he had deeded over their home to Dominic and he insisted the marriage take place so that their daughter Nicole could continue to be raised a Roth. By doing so, would also give his parents great comfort after he was gone. If she agreed, in six months time his letter would be destroyed. Liam also insisted she marry his brother because he didn’t want her marrying any one else.

Talk about secrets, the nursing home situation, desperately needing money for her father and sister and Dominic being the sperm donor. On top of that the accusations against Cassandra that she was money hungry, that she didn’t marry Liam for love and that she had an affair with his best friend. Dominic and his parents believed Liam. How could her first marriage go so wrong when she had married Liam for love and in the end he hurt her. How would all of this affect Cassandra and Dominic’s marriage and would they eventually fall in love?

Cassandra and Dominic married before Liam’s estate was settled and took a honeymoon taking baby Nicole with them. They literally lusted after each other and let’s just say when they finally act on that lust, the fire and passion leaps off of the pages. It was also rather touching and sweet reading about Dominic and Nicole bonding and it will tug at your heart reading about father and daughter getting to know each other. So many pressure upon this marriage from all of the secrets, to the white lies, the insults, and the mess Cassandra finds herself suffering over her father. On top of all of that, add to the mix the tension between Cassandra and her in-laws.

Lies always have away of surfacing and these were explosive and the drama is one you’ll not want to miss. Also Dominic’s and Cassandra’s passion for each other and how her love grows for her new husband. Will he only ever lust after her and could he possibly grow to love her? Will they all become a family including his parents? You’ll want to sincerely read High Society Secret Baby as well as Maxine Sullivan's second book , High-Society Seduction, about young widower Adam Roth. This book was full of high energy and was a most fantastic read!

Behind the Book

Description:

He'd done his late brother the ultimate favor and now Dominic Roth was paying the ultimate price. The tycoon could not declare Cassandra Roth's child his own—society could know the baby only as his niece. So when the opportunity arose for Dominic to lay claim to both mother and child, he played his cards.

Yet even as Dominic finally had the woman he'd secretly coveted, he knew he could not reveal their daughter's true parentage. For the billionaire daddy dared not risk destroying his tenuous hold on true happiness.
 

web page counters