Monday, January 30, 2012

A Secret Birthright - Olivia Gates

.

Olivia Gates states in her "Dear Reader" that in A Secret  Birthright"  she had gathered some her favorite themes in writing this particular book.  All I can say is was a most amazing love story thanks to this talented author.  I mean twists and turns like no other I've read.  A dark "sheikh" in a desert setting.  Family secrets from both the hero and heroine, more than you'll believe.  Love at first sight, a medical theme, family drama, royal intrigue, love at first sight and most of all, an "impossible" love.

I'm absolutely not kidding, I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning because from the very first chapter I was hooked.  Prince Fareed Aal Zaafer was a remarkable surgeon and Gwen McNeal needed him to perform surgery on her son.  However, it all had my heart racing because one was led to believe she had been the wife of Fareed's beloved younger brother and the father of her son.

Immediately upon their meeting it's obvious there are going to be some serious obstacles and issues to  overcome.  To say anymore would ruin this fabulous romance.  Let's just say Fareed holds his own with his father, the father he blames for his youngest brother's death.  The the same brother he believed married Gwen, the woman he lusts after.  His brother last breath was to say goodbye and ask he brother to take care of "his Lyn".  The same woman he's so attracted to and whose son needs his help, the same infant that has wormed his way as well as his mother into Fareed's heart.

A secret Birthright was torture to read because of the internal battle Fareed suffered.  It absolutely was love at first sight for him.  In the end, I knew he would sacrifice everything for her, he loved her that much but there was the internal battle he fought as well because he had loved his brother and he suffered his brother's passing.  If you pick up this book, I highly suggest you allow time to read it from cover to cover.  It was a most remarkable love story, and then the "bombs" drop, you'll need a comfortable setting to absorb everything this roller coaster brings.

Back of the Book

Prince Fareed Aal Zaafer is driven by one purpose—to find his late brother's family. But when Gwen McNeal arrives, needing his help, Fareed is relieved she is not the woman he seeks, for he must claim her for his own.

Fareed is Gwen's last—and most dangerous—hope. For he doesn't just overwhelm her senses, he sweeps her and her baby away to his kingdom—the last place she should ever go. Now she must hide the truth, and deny the desire between them at any cost. For if she fails, the result will be unthinkable….

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

In Honor of Australia Day (Jan 26th) International Contest




I must admit, I love my Australian authors, so much so that I want to celebrate their special day with all of you.  I have some books that they have written which I would love to give away

To win one these books, follow these authors on Facebook, wish them Happy Australia Day, come back here tell me how many you contacted and leave your email address,  Winners, depending on how many posts,  will be announced on Valentines Day, February 14th.

Prince of Scandal by Annie West.  I had the pleasure of reading Annie's debut years ago, and since then we've been great friends.  In fact, my Australian shepherd name was inspired by Annie and she is every bit as sweet and kind as her name sake.



Back of the Book



Ruling prince…

Raul, Prince of Maritz, is furious that an archaic law is forcing him to wed. But scandal and unrest has dogged this prince for years, and a marriage to recently discovered princess Luisa Hardwicke will help bring stability to the monarchy.

…reluctant princess

Only, Luisa is an outspoken, mud-splattered farm girl, who isn't going to come quietly! Even as she's reluctantly transformed into polished perfection, Luisa challenges Raul at every turn—and he finds himself anticipating their wedding night with an excitement he never imagined he'd feel…

Annie West on Facebook
Annie's Website



Next up is Trish Morey.  I adored Trish's sense of humor and at the moment in reading her UK Mills and Boon romance, Secrets of Castillo del Arco.  I have a friend in the UK who sometimes sends me books so that I don't have to wait until they are release  You'll love The Heir from Nowhere, which is an IVF mix-up and quite a shock to one sexy Italian.

Back of the Book

"You don't know me, but I'm having your baby."

Dominic Pirelli's carefully ordered world falls apart when a female stranger phones with staggering news: an IVF clinic mix-up means she is carrying the baby that he and his late wife dreamed of having!

Though he distrusts her motives, Dominic is determined to keep waif like Angelina Cameron close. Taking her to his luxury home, the hardened tycoon reluctantly begins to admire Angie's strength and gentle beauty as her body swells with the precious life inside her.

But when their baby is born, who will have custody of the Pirelli heir?

Trish Morey on Facebook
Trish's website

Now for the lovely Nicola Marsh books which are so much fun to read.  An aging Rock and Roll star and his young son.  On top of that her boss's handsome grandson who all went on tour together.  A great love story with the heroine so deserving her HEA.














Back of the Book

In all her time as premier tour manager to Australia's stars, Charli Chambers has never had someone as infuriating—or delectable!—as successful businessman Luca Petrelli along for the ride. He might always be in the gossip columns, but there's no way she's letting him claim VIP status!

But Luca's wicked eyes are just too tempting. In spite of herself, Charli's soon attending after-parties—just for two. She wants to believe this is one duet that's about to go platinum, but in spite of Luca being unprintably good in bed, can she ever get close enough to the real Luca for their fling to be more than just a one-hit wonder?




If you want to have some fun and get the buzz out, join Nic Street Team here




Nicola Marsh on Facebook
Nic's website

Rachael Bailey is an amazing Australian romance author and I have so loved her Bramson brother series. This is the final book in the series and I was so sad to see it end.



Back of the Book

He's returned for a fortune and is confronted by memories. Though tycoon JT Hartley is a success in his own right, he's set on claiming his share of his late father's legacy. But first he has to get past the estate executor—none other than Pia Baxter, a woman he's never forgotten.

Theirs had been a fast-and-furious union that ended all too suddenly. And though desire still courses between them, JT knows starting anything with Pia again is just asking for trouble. His future is set in stone. But even the best-laid plans are no match for true passion.

Rachael Bailey's on Facebook
Rachel's website

Monday, January 23, 2012

VETERAN HISTORICAL ROMANCE NOVELIST ALEXIS HARRINGTON’S FIRST SELF-PUBLISHED NOVEL,



HOME BY MORNING, TO BE REPUBLISHED ELECTRONICALLY AND IN PAPERBACK AS AN AMAZON MONTLAKE ROMANCE ON DECEMBER 24TH


Harrington Sets Her Story in 1918 Oregon Where the Strength of an Estranged Couple’s Love is Tested as the Great War Grinds On and the Deadly Influenza Pandemic Engulfs the World


“The balance between the romance and history is perfect. …Thank you, Ms. Harrington.”
—All About Romance on Home by Morning

“Emotionally moving and very tender, MONTANA BORN AND BRED tugs on your heartstrings in
magical ways. Alexis Harrington delivers a story with relevance to us today as well as a wonderfully drawn portrait of the era.” —RT Book Review

"Alexis Harrington is an extraordinary talent." —New York Times bestselling author, Catherine Anderson

When Alexis Harrington’s first book, Homeward Hearts, was published twenty years ago, e-books and
e-readers were mere glimmers in tech-savvy eyes. The author of ten traditionally published print books, Alexis published her recent historical romance novel, HOME BY MORNING, as an e-book original. The book caught the attention of editors’ at Amazon’s new Montlake Romance imprint, which then acquired print and electronic rights to it as well as Alexis’s upcoming novel, HOME BY NIGHTFALL. Set in the first part of the 20th century, both books take place in the small town of Powell Springs, Oregon and share several characters. HOME BY MORNING will be republished by Montlake for sale on December 24th and HOME BY NIGHTFALL follows in July 2012. Both will be available in e-book and paperback editions.

HOME BY MORNING begins in October, 1918 as Dr. Jessica Layton returns to her hometown of Powell Springs for the first time since leaving for medical school in the east. The Great War is in its fifth year, shortages abound, the home front mourns the massive loss of life, and women physicians remain an anomaly. Her efforts to treat New York City’s desperately poor left her drained and exhausted, in need of time to recuperate physically and emotionally. Having done so, she has now given up on a traditional medical practice and is headed to a research position in Seattle.

The stop in Powell Springs will be difficult. The town holds bitter memories and reminders of failure. Jess couldn’t save the family home, she broke her promise to continue her father’s medical practice and it’s the first time she’ll face Cole Braddock, the man who broke her heart and who her sister Amy is planning to marry.

Convinced to stand in for the absent town doctor for a few weeks before continuing north, Jess treats her first patient that very day, a soldier about to leave for Europe. Crossing paths with Cole, she hardens her heart, but can’t help but see he is still the same man with whom she fell in love, and still the only one who stirs her passion.

Cole is fighting his own demons. After his brother Riley enlisted, he was left to run the family business supplying desperately needed horses to the Army. Cole feels guilt about not fighting—a frustration exacerbated by his alcoholic father who belittles him at every turn. He worries, too, about Susannah, Riley’s wife, who is exhausted by work and worry. Drifting toward marriage with Amy, Cole has yet to put aside his anger over Jess. Seeing her stirs up memories of all they shared and the pain that has never healed.

The young soldier dies, the first person in Powell Springs to succumb to the influenza pandemic gripping the world. As more and more townspeople take ill, it is clear that a new war has come to the home front. Now, Jess and Cole work side-by-side as they struggle to save lives, an intimacy that makes it impossible to ignore their feelings for each other. Amid the turmoil, as Jess desperately treats the sick, she incurs the wrath of a minister bent on revenge and becomes the target of a slanderous campaign to keep her from her patients.

Jess has to decide. She can choose to fight on all fronts, or leave, turning her back on her hometown, its people and Cole forever.

ABOUT ALEXIS HARRINGTON

Historical novelist Alexis Harrington has entertained readers since her first book was published in 1994. She has been spinning tales of characters and situations that include mail order brides, the Yukon Gold Rush, seafaring, ranching, and protagonists heading west ever since. Her latest, HOME BY MORNING, is the first of her books published as an e-book original. Initially available in 2010, it will be re-released on December 24th electronically and, for the first time, in paperback by Amazon’s new Montlake Romance imprint.

Since that first novel, Homeward Hearts, was published Alexis has written and published ten more books, all historical romances. They include Homeward Hearts, A Light For My Love, A Taste of Heaven, Desperate Hearts, and Harper’s Bride, originally published by New American Library (NAL). Her novels Allie’s Moon, Montana Born and Bred, The Bridal Veil and The Irish Bride were published by St. Martin’s Press. Though Alexis originally published HOME BY MORNING independently, it has since been acquired by Amazon’s Montlake Romance imprint.

Alexis lives in the Pacific Northwest near the Columbia River within ten miles of her old high school. She has numerous pets, including three chickens. In addition to being a writer for the past twenty years, she makes jewelry, is a fine needlework artist specializing in embroidery, thread crochet and sewing. She enjoys cooking, reading, entertaining, and decorating, and is a lover of all things Victorian.

She is currently hard at work on HOME BY NIGHTFALL, which Montlake will publish in July 2012.

HOME BY MORNING
Alexis Harrington
Montlake Romance/ Fiction/Simultaneous e-book and Paperback/Republication

On sale 12-24-11/$2.99 e-book ● $14.95 Paperback
ISBN-10: 1612182054 ● ISBN-13: 978-1612182056

Alexis Website 

Facebook Page




'

To win an    Amazon Gift Card, stop by Romance Author Buzz

Sunday, January 15, 2012

January Recipe of the Month from Carla Neggers, Secrets of the Lost Summer




Carla Neggers' Recipes


SECRETS OF THE LOST SUMMER (release date n Jan 31)

Chive Butter

1 cup butter, softened

2 T. chopped fresh chives

2 tsp. chopped fresh parsley

Mix all together and chill for 2 to 3 hours (to blend flavors). Freezes well (up to one month).


Parsnip Chive Soup

1 large onion

1 garlic clove

4 T. olive oil

1 lb. parsnips, peeled, cut up

2 large apples, peeled, cut up

1 cup rutabaga, peeled, cut up

6 cups chicken or vegetable broth

¼ tsp. grated nutmeg

Heat oil and sauté onions and garlic until just starting to brown. Add broth to onion-garlic mixture and heat; add parsnips and rutabaga, bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer until almost tender; add apples and simmer until tender. Puree in food processor or blender and serve with chopped fresh chives and/or parsley and a sprinkle of fresh grated parmesan.

Oatmeal Dill Bread

Dissolve 1 pkg. yeast in ¼ c. lukewarm water. Soak 2 cups rolled oats in 4 cups of heated milk and let stand for ½ hour. Add ¼ c. melted butter and 1 T. salt. Add ¼ cup molasses or honey and the yeast mixture. Add 4 T. chopped dill or 1 T. chopped chives and 2 T. chopped dill. Stir in 10 to 11 cups all-purpose flour, enough to make a soft dough. Put on floured board or cloth and knead for 10 minutes. Let rise. Divide into loaves (2 to 3), place in pans, let rise again. Brush with melted butter and bake at 400 degrees F. for about 45 minutes (depending on size of loaves).

International Giveaway - Sarah Morgan - A Night of Scandal

About Sarah Morgan, a Q&A

I adore this authors writing style and this series The Blue Bloods (UK), The Nororious Wolfes has been a real joy to read.  This is The first book in the series.  The entire family was tortured by their father, they were scattered all over the world. A fabulous series.

A Night of Scandal


Blurb:

Nathaniel…Icon. Celebrity. Heartthrob.


But underneath his movie-star good looks, heâ € ™ s battling with the demons of his past. No one knows the real Nathaniel, they only see the pinup, the illusion he pretends to be.

Then one night he is forced to rely on Katie Field, an ordinary young woman from a very different world. She may be starstruck but she isnâ € ™ t blinded by the bright lights of fame. Can Nathaniel trust her enough to reveal the real man behind the mask?

Let the seduction begin!

.
Thanks for your continued support and for visiting this blog.  Tell me about your holidays and/or New Years.  Please follow this blog if you don't already.  And don't forget to leave your email address.  Contet will end January 31st.

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Secret History of a Good Girl - Aimee Carson (debut book)


 



I've had the pleasure over the past years to read many Mills and Boon and Harlequin debut books.  Secret History of a Good Girl is Aimee Carson's debut  and I never would have guessed.  It was a captivating romance, well crafted, with interesting secondary characters.  I couldn't put it down so in the end, I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning until I finished it.  All I can say is incredible!

Her hero was a handsome and rich hotelier, Paulo Domingues.  He had left the family business, Domingues International to start his own boutique chain of hotels..  There were several reasons he left.  His entire life he had been compared to his older brother, had fought for his father's attention, and his wife Bianca had left him and married his older brother.  Talk about drama!  On top the that, when his father died, he left the entire business to Marco, his brother.  Paulo became a success on his own and now he was getting ready for the grand opening of the Samba Hotel.  However, he had a problem, his event planner had quit her job so he was in the process of interviewing for a new planner.

Alyssa Hunt, the heroine had her own story.  She grew up on the wrong side of the tracks, her mother was 14 when she was born.  When there was a shortage of money, from the age of six when they had no food, her mother taught her how toshop lift food.  As she grew older, she was arrested twice for stealing.  She did the crime but she also served her time.  When she got out of jail, a woman took her under her wing, got her a scholarship to go to a high class college and a catering job.  Ass you read Alyssa's story, you'll learn about another disaster, one that almost ruined her.  Now, rich people intimidated her but she was determined to move forward, work hard and make her event business well known and a success. However when people found out about her record, some of them cancelled their events.

She had an interview with Paulo at the Samba and she wasn't going to let anything or anyone get in her way of getting the job or ruining her dream..Their initial meeting was interesting.  Paulo didn't feel Alyssa had enough experience and Alyssa was determined.  After arguing back and forth, he finally gave in and demanded a proposal for the Mayor's Birthday to be presented first thing the next day.  She pulled a fast one, lifted the original proposal made copies, and reworked it.  He was stunned because after looking at the security cameras he couldn't see how she snagged the original file.  And then her background check, of course, came back negative.  Like he told his best friend Nick, "she wanted me to find out".  So, Paulo took a chance and had her reporting directly to him.  Alyssa was a workaholic and determined to make Paulo eat his words.  The way she now looked at life, the past was behind her and she looked to a successful future.

Working side by side, they  got to know each other well.  Of course Paulo had questions which at first she skated around but there was one thing for sure, they lusted after each other.  Alyssa went after events that Paulo thought she couldn't pull off but she proved him wrong every step of the way.  She got a Hollywood couple's wedding; the publicity the hotel earned was astounding.  The passion and sparks couldn't be denied and when they finally came together, let's just say it was an erotic adventure in the hotels elevator! he he

The secondary characters.......her mother, his Chief of Ops, his brother Marco, BFF Nick and his ex-wife Bianca were fabulous.  I'm hoping Aimee will write Nick's story and Marco and Bianca's, at least.  However, the main focus of this powerful and sensual love story was communication, respect, and first and foremost, trust.  Without trust, how can a relationship survive?  And thanks to this new incredible author Aimee Carson they got their happy ending due to the interaction between Nick and Paulo, Alyssa and his talk with his brother.  They helped to give Paulo the happy ending he so deserved and the strength to go after the woman he loved.   Secret History of a Good Girl is also part of the Unbuttoned by a Rebel miniseries and a book I honestly will long remember.


Book Description:

Play with fire…


Miami hotel tycoon Paulo Domingues knows that beneath his events planner’s southern priss, Alyssa Hunt is all sass. Little Miss Prim has Paulo’s inner rebel roaring to life – he’s determined to seduce the fire out from behind it!

And you might get burnt!

Tough-cookie Alyssa hasn’t fought tooth and nail to shake off her past to be blindsided by one smooth-talking boss. Until, punch-drunk with desire, she succumbs to temptation and realises what she’s been missing out on! But will Miami’s most wanted bachelor run when he discovers the real reason behind her good-girl façade…?

Secret History of a Good Girl will be released as a Harlequin Presents Extra on February 7th, 2012.



The Argentine's Price - Maisey Yates



The Argentine's Price was a reunion romance, full of tension throughout the entire story.  From the very beginning, author Maisey Yates grabs your attention setting up events from the past and why sexy Lazaro Marino has a grudge.  He wants to take over Pickett Industries from the family who threw out he and his mother twelve years earlier, causing them to live on the streets. Vanessa Pickett's father made sure no one would hire them.  In the end, because they had no shelter, his mother died.  She had been the housekeeper for the Pickett's and he did odd jobs.  His relationship with Vanessa Pickett hadn't gone unnoticed by her father.  Now Vanessa was at the helm of Pickett Industries and the business was unraveling.  Lazaro's was buying  up the majority of their stock and planning to take over the business.
All I can say is this book held my attention from the very beginning, thanks to the clever Maisey Yates.  With his good looks and billions Lazaro could have any woman he wanted but he wanted Vanessa.  She was burned into his brain and he couldn't forget their past.  Even with all of his money he had earned, he could not buy his way into society and that irked him. Vanessa was the key.  If she became his bride, along with his money it would gain him the entrance into high society.  Holding my breath, I wondered if she agreed, what would be the cost to her heart?

Vanessa knew if she accepted his offer she would save her family business.  However, she would loose so much more, her soul.  Her father would be furious but what choice did she have?  She'd always done her duty even though it cost her.  She would save the family and honor the memory of her brother, Thomas who if he would have lived, would have run the company.  It was his legacy.  However, there was a problem, for Vanessa, Lazaro made her feel alive.  For Lazaro, she was like the air he breathed, he desired her like no other woman.  They were combustible together, in the somehow I knew somehow it could possibly end badly. 

He took her to Argentina, passion flared between them and both knew if they didn't share that passion, they would die.  It reminded them both of how they felt twelve years earlier.All of their hurts and smashed dreams.  Andc then Vanessa learned about the part her father's  played in his mother's death.  Remembering their shared pastextremely hurtful for both of them, as their dreams had been shattered.    All she'd ever done in her life was out of duty and now she was marrying a man to give him status.  She realized she had always loved him, had been waiting for his return.  I could only wonder, once he got his goal of getting in the social group he so wanted, would he seek revenge and hurt Vanessa? 

The Argentine's Price was a spellbinding and fascinating love story thanks to Maisey Yates.  From full blown passion, to hurt an anguish in the matter of a two week time period before their wedding.  Holding my breath , I stayed up very late at night reading the final chapters.  I wanted to see them both heal and get their happy ending.  Actually, I read the last chapters sitting on pins and needles.  At night they pleasured each other but by day, Vanessa seemed sad and misserable.  He thought it was because he had trapped her in their marriage.  He wanted to give her everything but didn't know what to do.  Silly man, I thought!  You "block head" she wanted your love because love has the power to heal and to make one feel whole.  And true to form, Maisey Yates gave this couple a glorious ending, but not before each of them had to suffer a little.  If you like reunion romances, you'll love this ones thanks to the twists and turns.

Behind the Scenes with Author Maisey Yates:
The Argentine’s Price came about during a coffee shop conversation with Lisa Hendrix. We were talking about the very upper upper crust of American society. And the way old money is revered while new money is often sneered at.


Songs for this book included Bleeding Love by Leona Lewis and Broken by Lifehouse.

The working title for this book was The Trophy Wife.

Anne Hathaway was the inspiration for Vanessa. Mark Conseulos was my inspiration for Lazaro.

Vanessa is a little bit clumsy (she drops her pen in her teacup in a scene). I like to include those moments of clumsiness because I’m an extremely clumsy person, and it’s sad to read about graceful people.

There is a scene where Vanessa tells Lazaro he’s in danger of getting TMJ from clenching his jaw too often. This came about because I eavesdropped on a twitter conversation between Sarah Wendell and Kira Soleore. They were saying that heroes in romance clenched their jaws so often they were in danger of getting TMJ. I thought it had to be in a book. So now, it is.
Back of the Book:

It’s time for the housekeeper’s son to collect his dues…

Lazaro Marino will stop at nothing to reach the top. He’s climbed his way out of poverty, but there’s still one thing that’s been denied him: entry into the highest echelons of society. And blue-blooded heiress Vanessa Pickett is the key to unlocking the door to all that he desires…

With her business in crisis, Vanessa is desperate. A marriage proposal of the utmost convenience will give both Lazaro and Vanessa everything they need… But, for Vanessa, this deal with the devil comes with a startling price…


Monday, January 09, 2012

Girl in the Bedouin Tent - Annie West


Girl in the Bedouin Tent immediately had me smiling because Cassie, was not the average heroine.  She was full of fire, sass and determination because she had been kidnapped by scoundrel Mastafa, a nearby ruling sheikh who had given Cassie to Sheikh Amir who was attending a desert meeting with some of the regional rulers.  He certainly did not expect to be given a sexy woman.  However, because of her safety, they would have to pretend they were lovers so that she would not be harmed.  An entire week of temptation for him?  Thanks to Annie West, I devoured this amazing romance in one evening.  It had me laughing, thanks to the spirited Cassie.

Cassie was different from the sophisticated women he dated.   She was full of fire and was a "fighting cat".  She had more fire than any other woman he had known and she stoked sometime inside him, he didn't understand.  Negotiations were critical at this desert meeting and Amir could not afford for anything to go wrong. Reading about their week in the tent and their adventures was going to be so much fun.  I couldn't wait to read their love story.  Annie West never disappoints and I held my breath, waiting to read about Amir, his family and nation's history and of course, Cassie's background and her past.

In a few short days, his fascination had turned to desire.  Could it be for both of them their confinement in the tent?  Amir took her on a picnic, told her a little about his country.  His feelings of desire were strong and he wouldn't even think about his upcoming arranged marriage, a marriage which would benefit his country.  She stirred things inside him, he fought at every turn in the road.  And then the truth about Cassie came out days later.....there was no one waiting to hear from her other than her landlady and a few girlfriends.  Her father hadn't wanted to acknowledge her and her mother had been his mistress while he had another family.  She didn't do vulnerable, she kept her self busy.  The school  in Talrakhar where she was going to teach English, wasn't expecting her for another week. 

Like Cassie, Amir had a somewhat trouble childhood, selfish parents who only thought of their needs and themselves.  It was his uncle, the old sheikh who taught Amir.  Te sheikh had thought he would turn out like his selfish parents, unstable and irresponsible.  Thanks to his parents selfishness, it made him stronger and the ruler he was today.  Holding my breath, I so wanted them to be a couple because I knew there would be fire and passion.  Trust me, their passion blazed and when the week was over it continued until gossip and duty called Amir.  Hurt but looking forward to teaching, Cassie left the palace.

Miserable is the only word I can think of to describe both of their feelings.  Duty called, an up coming royal marriage and not to Cassie.  All I could think of, this author always finds a way for her heroine and hero to be together.  I knew she wouldn't disappoint me.  Spectacular is the only way to describe the perfect ending for the ending of this royal desert romancer.  Simply, it was brilliant!

Back Blurb:

Not your average damsel in distress!

Sheikh Prince Amir has vowed to redeem his scandalous family name - so the last thing he needs on a tour of his desert kingdom is to have a sensuous blonde with more spirit than clothes presented for his harem.

Fiery Cassie might have been kidnapped by bandits and dolled up as the Sheikh's love-slave, but she refuses to be any man's plaything. Yet spending a week in Amir's desert tent pretending to be his mistress would get under any girl's skin. Especially when she is under his sheets.

Behind the book with author Annie West:
How one story led to another…

Some time ago I wrote a book called THE DESERT KING'S PREGNANT BRIDE about an Australian horsewoman who fell in love with a dashing Arabian prince. In that book my heroine, Maggie, had been abandoned as a child by her mother who took Maggie's younger sister with her, leaving Maggie to the cold comfort of her father's care.

I'd planned a follow up book immediately - wanting to write the story of Cassie, Maggie's younger sister who'd grown up not knowing she even had a sibling. But one thing led to another and that book wasn't written. However, Cassie's character was real in my mind, as was her difficult childhood, brought up by a mother who supported herself as a rich man's mistress. Eventually, after working through and discarding several ideas where Cassie crossed the globe to be reunited with her sister, I took my editor's advice and concentrated not on the reunion but on Cassie's own love story.

The result is a story with not a sister in sight, but I hope you find it as satisfying as I do. Cassie is travelling in the Middle East because she's re-evaluating her priorities and has volunteered to work as an English language teacher in a remote town. On the way she's kidnapped by bandits from across the border and swept into a dangerous world completely beyond her experience.

I asked myself what a modern, independent woman would do if kidnapped and presented to a visiting sheikh as a love slave. It was a situation so fraught with dark emotion and danger that I couldn't resist. Nor could I pass on the chance to explore some of the fantasy elements of the sheikh story.

The lure of the story was all the stronger because the man to whom she's presented prides himself on his honour and his self control. Circumstances are such that he can't simply reject the offer of a female companion, or leave the remote encampment for his own country. He has a mission to complete and it's vital he remain. Which means Cassie and Amir must share his luxurious accommodation and his bed, till his business is complete. Yet pretending to be a kept woman is Cassie's worst nightmare. Both Amir and Cassie are forced to face their demons, even as they find themselves drawn into a relationship unlike any they've ever had.

This story was one of the most intense I've written and was pure pleasure to write. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.  Annie West

Craving the Forbidden (The Fitzroy Legacy) India Grey



Craving the Forbidden was book one in the Fitzroy Legacy.  As the book states on the back cover, the second part of the story will be revealed this month.  Book one is Kit's and Sophie's story where shocking secrets were revealed.  It was full of turmoil and passion and left me wanting more.

It begins with Sophie boarding the rail and headed to the Fitzroy Manor is her friend  Jasper's date.  Jasper as Sophie well knew was gay but he didn't want his family to find out so he asked Sophie to pose as his lover.  What Sophie didn't know was that Jasper's brother Kit would be sitting next to her on that very same train. Their journey began to be an interesting one especially when they found out each other's identity.  She was like no other woman he had ever met but because he believed her to be his brother's girlfriend, he fought his desire for Sophie.  After being in the desert with his men for four months, her fiery hair, green eyes and outrageous brightened up his journey, until he found out she was Jasper's girlfriend and that was like dowsing ice water on his head.

Sophie had secrets as well from when she attended boarding school and know that she new Kit had been decorated with the Medal of honor which she and Jasper saw while shopping the the village for something for Sophie to wear to his father's birthday party, she felt he had also made false assumptions about her as he considered her a tart and a  gold digger, after his brother's money.  However, there was nothing to deny the attraction and sparks that arched between them and they both on a daily basis, fought it.  Until the night in the wine cellar when he touched and kissed her.....everything changed.

From then on everything went down hill.  Ralph Fitzroy had a heart attach, secrets were revealed, everything spun out of control.  It was like a tornado, whirling out of control, from Ralph passing, Jasper loosing it and Kit, well let's just say it was all a huge mess.  Add to the mix, some girls from the boarding school she attended told lies to the Fitzroy's about her past.  It was so unfair as Sophie was a free, vibrant and had compassion.  Any man would have been lucky to have her love.

It was over shortly after they began and it was a horrible day for the Fitzroy family.  They were burying Ralph Fitzroy and he and Sophie had made love the night before.  He felt he had betrayed his brother and she thought she had explained everything as best as she could.  Still, there were more secrets that would come spilling out and could hurt this family, even  Sophie.

Kit Fitzroy was quite the alpha hero and so was Sophie Greenham, she was so vibrant.  She made the winter days at the manor, bright and sunny.  Even though the girl with no past and a made up name felt she didn't belong, she did!  I look forward to seeing what lies ahead for this couple in In Bed With a Stranger.  Thank you to India Grey for this lovely two part epic romance!

Back of the Book::

The wrong Fitzroy brother?

Ticket-dodging in a first-class train carriage is not how bubbly Sophie Greenham envisaged meeting Kit Fitzroy, wealthy aristocrat, fearless army hero and brother of her friend Jasper. The smouldering heat between her and Kit is an unwelcome shock—especially as Sophie is masquerading as Jasper's girlfriend all holiday!

Although Kit's bravery is legendary, he's dreading the return to his magnificent ancestral manor. But Sophie's vibrancy dispels the shadows in his tortured soul, consuming Kit with a potent desire for the one woman he's forbidden to touch.…

Craving the Forbidden is part one of India Grey's unforgettable two-part story. Look for part two, In Bed with a Stranger, available December 2011!


 
Author India Grey talks about her two book duo at I(Heart)Presents

The Call of the Desert - Abby Green


When it comes to reunion romances I'm a softy and the fabulous Abby Green throughout The Call of the Desert tugged at my heart strings.  Fate  brought them together at a fundraiser where Julia Somerton was delivering a speech.  Like I said, fate stepped in and twelve years later and placed them at the same event..  She thought her heart would leap out of her body.  Kaden, the ruling sheikh of Burquati was in London and she honestly thought she would die.  And then she remembered all of those years ago how he had dismissed her, broken her heart and sent her home.

Kaden couldn't seem to control his emotions and hunger for Julia.  However, he also remembered her betrayal and his emotions were all over the place, especially because he had rescued her from the rain and had taken her to his home.  Seeing her after her shower, drove him crazy, made him remember that love hurt, that you couldn't trust it because he remembered his father had married his mother for love and when she died it had changed his parent.  Plus the fact he remembered seeing Julia years earlier kissing a man and she had broken his heart.  She had filled his heart and soul and he had imagined they would always be together.  But everything had changed that fateful day and when his father had died.  That evening they were so drawn to each other they couldn't fight their feelings and I wondered if Kaden would seek revenge on Julia, for her supposed betrayal.

One learns that both of them had married but each of them were now single and/or divorced.   Would this man be the only man to have ever made her feel whole and would he destroy her again?  Could she trust resuming an intimate affair with him and keep her heart intact?  I sincerely doubted it and when he invited her to his sister's arranged marriage, I was shocked that she accepted because I knew he had the ability to again, break her heart.  Could she be the one to walk away this time, in order to save herself from devastation?

Trust me when I say The Call of the Desert was a stunning romance, written by the USA Today Best Selling author, Abby Green.  The beauty of the desert, their resumed love affair, their ups and downs, all of it sincerely a beautiful love story, with a twist that made their whole situation unpredictable.  You won't even believe what comes up and will change their lives forever.  Let's just say they re-woke something in the end, giving them their royal happy ending, thanks to the talent of Ms. Green.


Back of the Book:
 

Consumed by the heat of the desert Twelve years ago Julia lost her heart to Sheikh Kaden in the scorching Burquati desert. Sizzling nights in the sand dunes under a blanket of stars made it seem as if they were the only two people in the world. Until bitter betrayal destroyed everything... Julia meets Kaden again by chance – although the cynicism in his eyes and the sharp suit covering his powerful body make the Sheikh virtually unrecognisable. Julia knows she shouldn’t ignore the warning shadows of their past, but Kaden’s earthy sexual magnetism makes the call of the desert utterly overpowering...

Marriage Made on Paper - Maisey Yates



Marriage Made on Paper was an amazing romance written by Maisey Yates.  From the very beginning I knew that Gage Forrester and the Lily Ford, a PR professional were going to be dynamite together.  Not just the chemistry, the dynamics of their relationship would be sensational and that's putting it mildly.

Gage was sexy, rich, handsome and a huge success.  He owed the praise to himself.  At a young age he removed his sister from the family home.  His parents had been selfish and because of that his younger sister had suffered so he raised her himself.  As for Lily, the same held true.  She grew up in a trailer park with a mother who went from man to man.  In fact when she was sixteen, her mother's boyfriend lusted after her and when she could get away from her mother and all of that mess, she went as far away as she could.  Lily was a much sought after "image" maker and Public Relations person.  However, once Gage had turned her down in representing him.  However, now he wanted her to come and work for him at any cost.

Gage radiated power, was a ruthless business man and had the reputation of a playboy.  When a scandal broke out concerning his little sister, he needed a plan or let's just say a distraction.  So he or should I say they announced that he and Lily were getting married.  Lily was stunning, smart and extremely sexy.  However, first and foremost, she excelled in her job and Gage was determined to bed her.  In order to make themselves the subject of the press and take away the spotlight from his sister's problem, Gage took her to Thailand resort.  He wanted her available 24/7..  So he set them up apart from the other guests, in a suite of their own.  Sparks, lust, sexual tension......all of the above for both of them.  They seemed like a "power" couple and complimented each other.  Would Gage be able to "thaw" Lily and get her in his bed?

In some things there were alike.  Gage avoided relationships with flings.  Lily avoided relationships completely.  For Lily, Gage was so much more than any other man she had ever met.  She tempted him and Gage definitely lusted after her.  Would they be able to keep their hands off of each other? No, no a thousand times no.  However, Lily had actually never been in a relationship.  Yes, she casually dated, but nothing more than that.  She liked to be in control and not depend on a man for her happiness like her mother had.  As for Gage, his career was important and he had put it on hold for his sister Maddy.  A wife and a child didn't deserve to be second.  Just like he and Maddy were to his parents.  Gage just wanted fun and uncomplicated.  He was sure with Lily that would not be possible. His body wanted Lily, even though his head said no and I honestly held my breath because I knew when they finally made love, their relationship would become complicated and that was putting it mildly.

Have you ever known something you really wanted could be bad for you?  Well it was like this for Lily and Gage.  Lily had strange thoughts about what it would be like to have someone care enough about you, like Gage had for his sister Maddy.  Her childhood tugged my heart strings and I wondered how all of these feelings they both felt, how they would be affected and what would be the outcome?  Upon returning back to the States, it was business as usual.  Yes, they tried and failed several times.  It was pitiful to read because one just knew they belonged together.  They were not only a "power" couple they were so good for each other but when would they realize it?

The charming Maisey Yates gave this couple their happy ending and oh what an ending.  This is the perfect romance for those of you who believe in falling in love.  It's about trust, love and respect and Lily and Gage had more than enough of that to give each other.  Honestly, I've read this book twice it was that wonderful.

Back of the Book

Pretend marriage…real wedding night!

When ambitious public relations expert Lily Ford signs a contract with hotshot property tycoon Gage Forrester, she inadvertently signs her life away! A tough taskmaster, he wants Lily at his beck and call 24/7.

Gage expects employees to go above and beyond. So, when he needs to generate some positive PR, his solution is completely unexpected: he proposes to Lily! All in the name of business, of course.

This may be a deal struck on paper, but Gage is a stickler for tradition when it comes to their wedding night!



Maisey talks about Marriage Made on Paper at I(Heart) Presents

Sunday, January 08, 2012

The Shameless Life of Ruiz Acosta (M&B)

I love reading about polo players and Susan Stephens Acosta brothers and sister series.  I just knew I was going to fall in love with Ruiz, he's one fabulous man!  Who wouldn't love a man who had adopted a service dog and had named it Bouncer?  I could tell that Ruiz was going to be one incredible alpha not only because he played polo, he was also tall, dark, handsome and rich.  And I wondered what sort of heroine Susan would create for this Argentinean?  A lovely and beautiful "English" rose?  She was a reporter for a London based magazine, arriving via rail on a cold, rainy and windy evening.  Her friend Luica Acosta was going to give her a place to stay until she could find something else.  Holly Valiant needed assistance as her ex-boyfriend had taken all of her savings and dumped her. And who should she literally run into but Ruiz Acosta.  As fate would have it, they both felt an immediate connection.

Holly was excited about her new job at ROCK Magazine but the numbers were down and if they didn't go back up, she would probably get laid off.  Oh, what to do?  She was now living in the Acosta penthouse and was so very grateful to her friend Lucia.  Speaking of fate, Ruiz house flooded and so he also had to stay in the family penthouse.  An then Holly came up with an idea for an article and her editor bought it.  "My Living with a Playboy".  Yes, you guessed it, she would write a fiction article about her life living under the same roof with Ruiz.  The column was a huge success.  Holly worked day and night on it and Ruiz took care of his own business so that he could return to Argentina for an upcoming polo match.  The plan was to leave his dog with Holly until he returned.  Their plans backfired for both of them when they fell into each others arms.  Talk about sparks flying everywhere, plus the great sex!

Holly and Ruiz first became friends and then lovers.  However, he didn't want to hurt her and he didn't want love.  As for Holly, after she thought it all over, rule number one was not to rely on no one, rely only on yourself.  However, it still hurt, it hurt very much because it was obvious he was pulling away from her and would soon be heading out to Argentina, his family, the polo match and his friends.  And she would have only her career which had become extremely important to her.  At least Ruiz believed so and in the end he issued her a challenge and would she take it?

The Shameless Life of Ruiz Acosta was an amazing romance which sets the stage from more romances concerning this Acosta family.  It was one hot and romantic read thanks to the to the abilities and talent of Susan Stephens.


Author Susan Stephens talks about polo players and about the "Band of Acosta" men and her idea for this series.  Susan, if you're reading this you also must write their sister's story.......please! 
My three dangerously attractive bad-boy Acosta brothers, and their lovely sister, Lucia, will be making their appearance in 2012 with two books at the beginning of the year and two at the end of the year.

And in 2013 - I will be introducing my next family - three brothers and a sister with a very chequered background indeed!  Susan Stephens

The Band of Brothers

Book One: The Shameless Life of Ruiz Acosta with shameless Ruiz!

Book Two: The Argentinians Solace with brooding, injured Diego

Book Three: title to be announced with the Acosta boys sister, Lucia, and Luke Forster, the muscle-bound son of Princeton Lucia has tormented since they were children

Book Four: title to be announced with the oldest brother, Nacho, and a blind sommelier called Grace

Book Five: title to be announced with bad-boy Kruz and a penniless princess

Working with the Enemy - Susan Stephens

The bad boy Heath Stump and now millionaire returned home to the country estate left to him by Uncle Harry.  Only to find camped on the estate's doorstep, the girl from his bad boy past, Bronte Foster-Jenkins.  The same girl who wanted to restore Hebers Ghyll and apply for the job of Heber's estate manager.

Bronte reminded Heath of things he wanted to forget, like his abusive childhood, the times he had been incarcerated.  She also set off sparks and the heat simmered between them.  So much so that once Heath returned to the old estate and found out that Bronte and her girlfriends had been cleaning up the old castle inside and out when he had specifically forbidden it, passion like no other flared between them.  Bronte reminded Heath of things he was ashamed of and she was the first woman he was actually attracted to and for once in his life, she was the first woman to meet and match his sexual appetite

.Hebers Ghyll was important to Bronte as her father had been the caretaker and her mother the cook/housekeeper.  She had adored Uncle Harry and he had even assisted Bronte with getting her estate manager certificate.  However, Herbers Ghyll wasn't important to Heath, at least he kept telling himself so but in the end, he decided to give Bronte a chance because it meant everything to her and also provided jobs for the town's people.  There was one thing for sure, Bronte had grown up in a loving family and Heath had been left alone until Uncle Harry stepped in and gave him the most incredible gift, that of a computer.  Now Heath, thanks to that computer made his living in the gaming world, living an affluent and high life style.  Not until Bronte came to London and saw his home did she realize just how important a "home" was to this sexy man.

They had an explosive evening together, then an argument and started over, learning more about each other Secretly, I wondered if they would ever  get their chance because it was so very obvious that Bronte adored Heath.  Bronte had a job to do along with the towns people, and that was restoring Herbers Ghyll which became her top priority.  A tragedy played itself out on the estate, and only then did Heath realize how much he loved this woman.  Working with the Enemy was a well crafted reunion romance, one I sincerely enjoyed thanks to Susan Stephens.  It was part of Risky Business series.

Back of the Book

Heath Stamp was a very bad boy growing up. If there was a fight, he fought. If there was a woman, he took her to bed. If there was a sweet, innocent girl with big doe eyes—he ran a mile.

Bronte Foster-Jenkins sure isn't looking at him with big doe eyes anymore. Instead, she's shooting daggers in his direction. All grown up, Heath is rich, arrogant and ready to raze his family estate to the ground—even if Bronte will do anything to stop him. He'll do it with a glint in his eye and happily take her down with him. For, make no mistake, Heath Stamp has gone from bad…to irresistible!



 

web page counters